McLennan County Historical Commission Minutes for January 30, 2021

Proof of posting was established in accordance with the Government Code, Chapter 551 (known as the Open Meetings Act), and the meeting was called to order by Vice Chair Clint Lynch.

A Quorum was established with the following members present via Zoom and telephone: Charles Barrow, Thomas DeShong, Amanda Dyer, Sylvia Hernandez, Byron Johnson, John Kamenec, Clint Lynch, Kevin Stone, Greta Watson, and Shirley Woodlock.

Meeting was opened by Clint Lynch who officially called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Minutes of the meeting of November 21, 2020 were approved. A motion was made by Shirley Woodlock and seconded by Amanda Dyer to accept the minutes. The motion passed.

The Treasurer's report was delivered by Charles Barrow. The reports sent by Missy in the Auditor's Office show that the only change in accounts was \$77.70 reimbursement given to former Chair Ken Brittain for supplies. There are currently no outstanding charges, although Clint Lynch will soon be purchasing the gift cards for the Heart of Texas Regional History Fair awards.

Agenda items included the following:

• Elections: Clint Lynch opened the floor, entertaining nominations for the four positions comprising the Executive Committee. Charles Barrow accepted the nomination for Chair, Clint Lynch accepted the nomination for Vice Chair, Thomas DeShong accepted the nomination for Secretary, and Kevin Stone accepted the nomination for Treasurer. Voting on these nominations will take place in the February meeting.

Committee Reports:

Marker Committee-Clint Lynch: As a refresher, Clint discussed the various marker applications currently underway. The Jesse Washington marker and Evangelia Settlement marker have both been approved as untold stories by the state commission, though the latter is still under review for wording of the text. The Katy Ballpark marker application was initially rejected but is currently being rewritten for resubmission. Clint also discussed the Pleasant Grove Baptist Church marker application. The text and research appear to be meticulous and thorough. Amanda Dyer also spoke briefly about a recent webinar on historical markers. The issue at hand is that there is nothing in the Texas law code to allow or prohibit the removal of historical markers. Language is currently being proposed on this matter by the state historical commission.

Medallion Committee-Sean Sutcliffe: No report given.

Projects Committee-Watson Arnold: No report given.

Texas Treasure Business Award Committee-Shirley Woodlock: Shirley continues to compile research on businesses that may be eligible for the award. She is eager to continue serving on the committee in the new year and hopes to reach out to diverse businesses. Various members made suggestions for potential recipients including Jesse's Tortilla Factory, El Conquistador, and the Dorsey-Keatts Funeral Home. Members of the commission were encouraged to email Shirley with any suggestions they might have.

Video Committee-Clint Lynch: Clint says that the commission will take stock concerning the Torrey Trading Post video project in the upcoming months to determine whether the project should continue as a

documentary or should be converted into a possible sub-page for the Commission's website. Charles Barrow encouraged all commission members to review the latest script for the documentary. This will be distributed via email in early February prior to the next meeting.

Website and Public Relations Committee-Clint Lynch: Clint reported that a donation consisting of several ribbons - including a 1928 Cotton Palace ribbon - was made to the Historical Commission via the website. Clint passed this donation along to the Historic Waco Foundation.

New Business: Judging for the Heart of Texas Regional History Fair commences next week. Thomas DeShong, Sylvia Hernandez, Amanda Dyer, and Shirley Woodlock expressed interest in judging projects for the Historical Commission's yearly award. A recap of the awards will be given at the next meeting.

Thomas DeShong encouraged the commission to be thinking about prospective members. Currently, the commission's roster stands at 14 out of a possible 20 members. Clint Lynch insisted diversifying the commission would strengthen it by offering fresh perspectives and new ideas.

Requests for Future Agenda Items: None.

Adjournment: The next meeting will likely be held online through Zoom due to the coronavirus pandemic. The date and time of the meeting, as of now, have not been set though the commission will meet in February. A move to adjourn was made by Shirley Woodlock and seconded by Charles Barrow at 11:01 a.m. All in approval.

Submitted by Thomas A. DeShong, Secretary